Celebrating 168 years In Your Community
We invite you to click through our website and be inspired by the ways in which God’s Holy Spirit is moving through our dedicated and vibrant community; by the ways people find hope and friendship in our church family; and so, be inspired to join us in worship. Our worship services - like our building - reflect a mixing and blending of the traditional and more modern; music and singing are an important and integral part of our worship.
Trinity is classically Anglican in its design. It is the oldest church in Durham, the building dating from 1860, yet it is wheelchair accessible as a result of a beautiful addition to the church built in 1990.
As a congregation, we are actively seeking new directions to serve Jesus Christ by sharing and living our faith in our lives—as individuals, within our church family and in our community.
Join us as we live our vision as an energized, vibrant church, dedicated to serving God.
Blessing of the United Way School Back Pack's
Backpacks full with supplies for the
United Ways school back pack drive!
Parish Picnic 2016
Rev. JoAnn Todd celebrated 6 years of Ministry with the Joint Parish of Trinity/St. James at our recent Parish Church Picnic held at the Murray/Matthews Farm
(pictured left to right - Linda Gardiner, Rev. JoAnn Todd & Robin Gingerich)
Trinity Anglican Church
Easter Sunrise Service
March 27, 2016
Former Durham resident and Trinity Anglican Church member,
Clare MacInnes, enjoyed a wonderful time with friends!
Bill Redfern presented Clare with a beautiful bouquet of flowers
in honour of her visit.
Celebrating the Christmas Season at Trinity
Donations are still being accepted for our Sock and Mitten Tree for children in Cape Crooker - any new or gently used children's books are welcome too!
Evening Prayer Service with St. Paul's Cathedral Choir
A wonderful traditional Anglican Service that was enjoyed by all who attended. The rich history of Trinity Anglican Church came to life through joyous voice and song!
Trinity Anglican Church Bell
Work was recently done on our church bell, and here are a few images taken before work was complete.
The bell was first cast in April 1868.
In was burnt September 5, 1876 and then recast on November 30, 1876.
Rev. JoAnn Todd with Lacey Richie, Trinity's new cross bearer
Christmas Shoeboxes for children overseas, for the charity Samaritains Purse, filled by members of Trinity Anglican Church
165th Anniversary Service Highlights
Images from The Three Cantors performance on October 17, 2014
photo by Lorena Noel
The First Anglican Church Service in Durham
By Narda Elvidge
Arthur Rigland Mulholland. A name that might not be familiar with many in town, but those familiar with the history of the Anglican Church in Durham will know who he is.
Reverend Mulholland holds the distinction of being the first minister to conduct an Anglican Church service in the newly created Town of Durham, Ontario. Arthur Mulholland, a native of County Down, Ireland, was educated at Foyle College in Londonderry Ireland. After completing his theology studies and ministerial training, he became involved with the Church of England Missionary Society. This society was active in placing ministers in foreign countries where they could spread the word of the Gospel. He
was given his choice of going to Australia or Canada. The decision was made and his life in Canada was about to begin.
Reverend Mulholland, his wife and children, made the long journey from Ireland to Canada during the summer of 1849. Once making landfall on Canadian soil the family made their way to Toronto. Upon arriving, Mulholland made contact with Archdeacon Bethune. Under the Archdeacon’s direction, Arthur took an examination at the Diocesan
Divinity College at Coburg. He passed the exam and was ordained a deacon by Bishop Strachan on August 19, 1849 in Saint George’s Church in Kingston. This must have been a dizzying time for the Mulholland & his family. In just a few short months they had left their native Ireland, arrived in a new country, and were now given a new missionary parish to minister and to call home.
Bishop Strachan sent the Mulholland family to Sydenham (which is now the City of Owen Sound), where Arthur was given license to administer the sacraments. The new missionary parish would cover all of what today encompasses Grey and Bruce Counties.
By October 1849 the family had settled into their new life and home. It was now time for the Reverend to go further a field and explore his new parish territory. An interesting side note, Mulholland travelled his new parish on horseback – a white horse in fact – he was one of the few people in this entire area to own a horse. His vocation lead him to preach in various communities in Grey/Bruce, eventually he made his way to Durham.
His arrival in the community was met with much delight by the settlers in town and the surrounding countryside. He landed in town after an all day journey by horseback, on a Saturday, in November of 1849. He arrived a day early to prepare for the service on Sunday and to also meet the local town’s people and discuss where the service would be held. There were no churches built in town at that time, so the services were held in private homes. This first Anglican Service was held at the home of Mr. John Hobson Edge. His home was located near the town mill and it was a good size to accommodate the large crowd that was expected to show.
On Sunday the Edge home was filled to the rafters with citizens of Durham and area. Many travelled great distances to hear a Church of England service, something they had not witnessed since leaving the old country. Also, many families in attendance were hoping to have their children baptised during the service.
It was noted by Rev. Mulholland many years later that there were congregation members proudly holding their bibles that they had brought
with them on their journey to Canada.
Of the families in attendance at that first service, the Rev. could remember names such as Edge, Blake, Hopkins, Cuff, Moody, and Jones to name but a few.
These families, who originally came from every corner of the British Isles, now assembled together for a church service in their new homeland. Also in attendance were George Jackson, the Crown Land Agent, and later Member of Parliament for the electoral district of Grey South, and Archibald Hunter, founder of the town of Durham.
There were no musical instruments of any nature at that first service but there were many singing voices in fine form and the beautiful old hymns were sung with much joy and heart. That must have been a special moment for all who attended – a moment not soon forgotten.
Reverend Mulholland, on further remembrance, said that in all his years as a minister, he had never heard the Grand Old Hundredth Psalm sung as heartedly as he did at that first service.
All people that on earth do dwell,
Sing to the Lord with cheerful voice.
Him serve with mirth, his praise forth tell;
Come ye before him and rejoice.
Know that the Lord is God indeed;
Without our aid he did us make;
We are his folk, he doth us feed,
And for his sheep he doth us take.
O enters then his gates with praise;
Approach with joy his courts unto;
Praise, laud, and bless his name always,
For it is seemly so to do.
For why! The Lord our God is good;
His mercy is forever sure;
His truth at all times firmly stood,
And shall from age to age endure.
And so the very first Anglican Church service in Durham came to pass. It strengthened founding members of our town, it created bonds of friendship & camaraderie, and it established faith and strengthened resolve.
Built to overlook the Saugeen River and on the site where the first pioneer settler camped, Trinity is classically Anglican in its design. It is the oldest church in Durham, the building dating from 1860, yet it is wheelchair accessible as a result of a beautiful addition to the church built in 1990.
The ‘Trinity Window’, an unusual and unique feature of the church, was blown out in the “Great Storm of Good Friday 1913” and plastered over at the time. It was rediscovered in a more recent renovation of the church, fragments of glass and pattern matched and now is restored to its original beauty.